My Cardinal Sin

I have always considered what other people want and need from me. I used to believe that in order for me to get what I want, I had to give a part of myself away first. I had to do something for you first to be on the receiving end in any relationship. This was my cardinal rule in life.

Can you imagine how exhausting being like that is? To put yourself through an emotional and mental obstacle course to get anything in life. The straight up mind fuck of it all?

It took 24 years to come to the realization that this belief is not serving me at all! This way of being was so deeply a part of my identity that I was blindsided by it. And I thought it was the best part of my personality… *cough* Seriously, Gab? Reality check please! I played the martyr card hard with this one guys..  and even though I get to have new perspective and see how yucky that was I don’t regret it.. I had to go through that shit to see that it wasn’t working for me.

Here is what I now know I get to release:

  • fatigue and exhaustion
  • blame
  • anxiety
  • depression
  • fear
  • insecurity
  • excess weight in any form

 

Here is what I get to receive:

  • Confidence
  • Personal power
  • Higher levels of energy
  • Joy
  • Happiness
  • Faith
  • Trust
  • Honor
  • Integrity

 

Obviously, those are short lists of how truly powerful this change gets to impact my life. It feels so good. Like stepping into the sun.  I want to be able to share my experience with people, so that if just one person who has suffered similar to me can heal, they get the invitation.

I understand that there is a very healthy flip side to considering the needs and wants of others. It means that I am sensitive to get in tune where people need to be served. And I am so grateful to be able to tune in that way. I know I am a healer. But the way we go about doing things is very important. When you show up for yourself you get to show up for others in a very powerful way. Everyone gets to be honored.

 

If you have some yummy action steps that you take to show up for yourself please share them with me!

Love & Light -Gabrielle

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

